Hey Girl…

Happy Tuesday Everyone!

The weekend went by so quickly, and since Steve had to work the majority of it, I found myself lounging around the house devouring the third book of the Hunger Games series.  I read the first book on the Sunday after the movie came out.  I was so tired of hearing people talk about it that I decided to jump on the bandwagon and see what all the fuss was about.  Needless to say, I read the book that morning and then went to see the movie that same night.  It. Was. Awesome.

And I also enjoyed finally understanding (and laughing hysterically) at some of the Hunger Games parody creations that are lurking around the web.

I think I read the second book in a couple of days, and I’m slightly embarrassed to say that I started and finished the third book, Mockingjay, all in one day.  It may sound silly, but I get very anxious when I read, especially if it’s a really good book, so I pretty much sit in one spot and read the entire book, just so I can know what happens at the end.  The downside of this is that I’m so ready to find out what happens that I sometimes skim over some of the pages.  I do go back and re-read just about every book (some several times), which Steve thinks is really strange, but it gives me a chance to read slowly and soak in the details since I already know what happens anyway.  Weird, I know, but it works for me!

After Steve finished work on Saturday, we went to see a bike race that was happening Uptown.  It’s some sort of criterium where about 200 professional cyclist participate.  The top prize for the women’s division was $25,000 and the top prize for the men’s was $50,000, so I was really bummed that I didn’t bring my cruiser bicycle along and get in on the race action.  That $25,000 sure would have been nice, and I could totally ride 25+ mph while racing 3 inches away from the other bikes (kidding, I can barely pedal in a straight line).

If you watch the video below, just excuse Steve’s small slip of the tongue at the very end.  We were sitting on the edge of the street while filming, and he somehow knocked his water bottle onto the street where it proceeded to roll towards the race path.  Luckily all the bikers had just passed; otherwise Steve would have had the pleasure of being responsible for a major bike crash via water bottle.

The next day we indulged in our Sunday breakfast tradition: Belgian waffles.  Waffles are my favorite because you just dump the batter into the machine and go lounge around until you hear it beep.  No pancake flipping (aka – burning) for this girl.  I also can’t get over the fact that our waffle maker cost an enormous amount of money, so using it as much as possible helps to validate the purchase.

Socrates waiting patiently for his breakfast

I whipped up a batch while Steve was out walking a few miles with a 50-pound backpack on (seriously, the guy is crazy), and surprised him with some homemade blueberry syrup to add to our waffles.

While recovering from our waffle coma, Steve blurted out this beauty: Hey Girl, I wish I were a tangent and you a parabola so that I could lay beside your curves.

It’s okay, you can be jealous of my awesome husband.  I love that he incorporated our love of Ryan Gosling (that’s right, our love, not my love, Steve pines over his strong jaw line and raw sexuality too) as well as his impeccable calculus skills to form the funniest/dorkiest Hey Girl! line ever.

I really wanted to put up a shirtless picture of Steve with his Hey Girl line written on it, but since I would like to spend the rest of my life with a husband that talks to me, I figured that wasn’t really a good idea.

Steve had to work that afternoon, so I tidied up the house, browsed online for patio furniture (love this set from Target), and essentially became the personal pillow of a little bichon named Socrates.  I think he is quite possibly the most snuggle-loving dog ever.

When Steve got home, we scanned the fridge and brainstormed possible dinner options.  We settled on making pesto pasta since it seems like we have parsley growing out of the walls.  Unfortunately, I can’t say that my pesto was the besto, but it did make for an…interesting dish.  Steve and Socrates gobbled it up, but I’m not sure if it was the pesto made with parsley instead of basil or the texture of the mung bean noodles that I wasn’t used to, but it just wasn’t a hit for me.

Clearly Socrates didn’t share my opinion, he attacked the bowl before I could put it on the floor:

Since I was still hungry and didn’t feel like cooking dinner 2.0, we headed down the street to our local bakery to grab dessert (triple chocolate cupcake for me, orange hazelnut scone for Steve, lots of sad begging puppy dog expressions for Socrates).  While sitting in the car enjoying our treats, Steve decided to try and distract Socrates from his get-some-or-all-of-their-food mission by rolling down the window and letting him stick his head out.  It worked!  Socrates was enjoying the breeze and joy of hanging his head out the window and we were left enjoying our treats without his sad eyes lurking up at us.

All was peaceful (and sugary), until Socrates decided in a split second that he wanted revenge for our anit-sweet sharing attitudes.  He jumped out of the window and bolted towards the road full of oncoming cars.  After having a minor heart attack, Steve and I jumped out of the car just in time to see Socrates getting distracted by a bush right before the street.  In the time it took him to grace the bush with his presence, Steve was able to chase him away from the cars and back into the parking lot where I demonstrated some ninja moves to scoop him up and return him back to car confined safety where we immediately implemented a no-open-windows-unless-holding-on-to-the-crazy-dog rule.

Have a good week!

3 thoughts on “Hey Girl…

Leave a Reply

