High of 75

What a pretty weekend it’s been.  The high today was 75 and I think yesterday we reached the 80’s, so it’s been the perfect temperature to play outside.  I normally love the cold weather, especially if there happens to be snow on the ground, but the warm weather and sunshine this weekend has done a good job of convincing me that I’m ready to say goodbye to winter (if we can even call it that) and hello to spring.  We ate dinner in the park on Saturday night (thank you, daylight savings time), and then came home to let Socrates play outside a little more.  He’s loving the warm weather and all the opportunities to go outside that it’s bringing him, and if his smell is telling us anything about how much he’s enjoying it, then I’d definitly say he is one happy puppy.

We had a nice and quiet St. Patrick’s Day night, no green beer for us!  We did make our way through almost an entire season of Friends, so there’s definitely some accomplishments being made in the Bentley household.  There was a thunderstorm a little later on, so it was a great night to snuggle up with a cute husband and stinky puppy, and Socrates could totally identify with Pheobe’s musical excellence of Smelly Cat .

On Sunday we got up and ready for round two at the park after a quick trip to Earthfare.  Steve took his rope stuff (I’m sure it has a fancy name, I just don’t know it) to set up a slackline.  Apparently the hippie past-time of slacklining isn’t very popular in Charlotte because we got a lot of strange looks and people stopping by to take a look.

I did overcome my girly instincts and actually try it a couple of times.  It didn’t work out so great, but I did (sort of) stand up once or twice.  Steve and Nick are both really good at it, I should have videoed all the walking, spinning, and crouching down moves they were cranking out.

The one time I did stand up it looked like this:

But most of the other times it looked like this:  (attractive, I know)

I mostly just watched the pros attempt different tricks while enjoying the pretty park view and making sure Socrates acted classy (aka – not sniffing the lady parts of other dogs).

The ground was still a little wet from last nights storm, so getting muddy and kicking up dirt on himself were both a big part of Socrates’ agenda on our day out.  In order to keep our house from smelling like wet dog, I (attempted) to give Socrates a bath when we got home.  I wish I had a picture of bath time, but between my soaking wet clothes and the piles of water that I was unsuccessfully trying to stop from being splashed on the floor and walls, I figured it wasn’t really a good environment to break out the camera.  I normally take Socrates to the groomer when it comes time for a bath, but I figured I’d give being economical a try, and I must say it was a little bit of a failure.  While I do have a semi-clean dog, I also have a massive amount of water to clean up and a pretty icky bathtub.  I don’t think Socrates minded the bath too much, however, he was very happy when it was over and went on a sprinting spree around the house before I could attack him with the evil blow dryer.  He even rolled around on the floor a bit, I guess he wanted to get some dirty back on him or something.

I do have a tasty egg recipe to share, but the weather is too nice to sit here any longer, and all the energy and effort it took to give the crazy dog a bath has left me a bit hungry.  Have a good rest of the weekend!

2 thoughts on “High of 75

  1. Pingback: Two Memory Projects: Wedding Idea & Daily Calendar Journal | life write now

Leave a Reply

